July 29, 2014

Hello fellow family and friends!

Lately I have been working on learning Shu wa (Japanese Sign language). I am getting pretty good at it! I found a lady on the train that knows Shu wa and I did the baptismal commitment to her! She shook her head no and got off of the train. (sometimes you just have to be bold).

Today’s scripture is one of the most read scriptures.

Any guesses?

If you guessed 1 Nephi 1:1 you are right! (Have I used this one before?)

Anways

I, Nephi, having been born of goodly parents, therefore I was taught somewhat in all the learning of my father and having seen many afflictions in the course of my days, nevertheless, having been highly favored of the Lord in all my days, yea, having had a great knowledge of the goodness and the mysteries of God, thereofre I make a record of my proceedings in my days.
I,Hokanson 姉妹, having been born of goodly parents therefore I was taught somewhat in all the learning of my father. I really like this part! Before this life we lived with God in Heaven. We had spirits but no body. We saw that God had a perfect body and he is a great being. We wanted to become like him and gain a body and family. We were blessed with the opportunity to come to earth and learn how to return to him. In order to learn and grow, we were given loving familes. Parents to teach us.

I have been taught in the learning of my father ( English language) and probably would have enjoyed some of the learning of my mother (Japanese). But that is okay. I learned the important things, which are:
a great knowledge of the goodness and the mysteries of God.

My parents always taught me the importance of church and I am so grateful for that. I have known from a young age of my Heavenly Father, and my Savior Jesus Christ. Also of the scriptures and the truths that are written in them. I love the Book of Mormon. I read it before my mission and loved it. Now that I am on my mission, I have gained a greater love for my scriptures. It is true what they say, as you study, ponder, and pray, the mysteries of the heavens will be opened unto you. You must have the desire to ask. You must also do your part; study it out in your minds.

Just because we have this knowledge life won’t be a walk in the park.
Having seen many afflictions in the course of my days, nevertheless, having been highly favored of the Lord in all my days.

I’ve had investigator tell me that she was in Europe and her bag got stolen while she was traveling, since that bad thing happened to her, God couldn’t exist. We explained that God doesn’t take away our agency. He won’t take away others agency either. We all make choices, but we can’t choose the consequences. Just because we have a hard time, doesn’t mean that God doesn’t love us. If we don’t know that hard times we won’t appreciate the good times. Through trials we grow. We depend on God more. We become humbled. I love the talk by Elder Dieter F. Uchdorf. Doubt your Doubts before you Doubt your faith.

Don’t Doubt God, He is there, He loves you! I promise that as you read about him, and learn about his character, you will gain a greater faith and come to understand him better. You will learn of his great love for you. In the name of Jesus Christ our Savior, Amen

Sister Hokanson

Sister Hokanson
Japan Tokyo South Mission

Leave a Reply

