Bear Up Their Burdens With Ease

Dearest family,
 
I address you as family because we are all one big family. Imagine how better the world would be if everyone pondered on that one simple fact. 
 
This week I’ve been studying a lot from the last General Conference talks. If I expect to get more revelations and answers at next conference, I better show The Lord how much I cared for the words of wisdom from the last conference. The talk I’ve focused the most on is penned, Bear Up Their Burdens With Ease by David A. Bednar. To briefly summarize, he tells the story of his friend who bought a new pick up truck. The friend drives into the mountains to cut some firewood. In the mountains snow has already fallen. The friend and his shiny truck get stuck. He decides to waste no time and fill the truck with a load of wood. After accomplishing this task he, once again, tries to leave. The tires spun free from the icy trap, and he was on his path home. 
 
The load is what made the difference. Loads don’t only help trucks, but they help us. In Relief Society yesterday, they asked us, what are our loads? Here are some of the answers we offered: life, thinking about the future, illness, work, pressures of the world, family, receiving education, raising families, death, pondering the next life to come. Loads are not bad, they are good thing. They help shape us into the person God wants us to become. As we carry our loads with hope, faith, and patience we will see blessing of God. We all have loads, but sometimes do we carry unnecessary things? Review your life and ask, is this necessary to help me return to my Heavenly Father? 
 
Christ will help us through anything! We have to have faith in him, be willing to ask for help, and do all in our power to bear the trial. Here is a scripture that Clearly illustrates his principle, Mosiah 24: 12-15
 
12 And Alma and his people did not raise their voices to the Lord their God, but did pour out their hearts to him; and he did know the thoughts of their hearts.
 
13 And it came to pass that the voice of the Lord came to them in their afflictions, saying: Lift up your heads and be of good comfort, for I know of the covenant which ye have made unto me; and I will covenant with my people and deliver them out of bondage.
 
14 And I will also ease the burdens which are put upon your shoulders, that even you cannot feel them upon your backs, even while you are in bondage; and this will I do that ye may stand as witnesses for me hereafter, and that ye may know of a surety that I, the Lord God, do visit my people in their afflictions.
 
15 And now it came to pass that the burdens which were laid upon Alma and his brethren were made light; yea, the Lord did strengthen them that they could bear up their burdens with ease, and they did submit cheerfully and with patience to all the will of the Lord.
 
So this week we’ve been trying to meet with investigators and everyone is just busy! Everyone! We go to people’s house they were busy and gone. It was one of our burdens you could say. Anyways last night we decided to go to the train station and hand out free English Fliers. We get there and there is no one in sight, only taxi drivers. My companion was ready to leave, but I promised her that we told God our plan was to be here till 8:30, we will talk to someone and change their life. All we have to do is stand here, with perfect faith, and do our best to not get disappointed every time we are rejected. In ten minutes, people started coming. We were completely rejected! We couldn’t even pass out a flier! Then I was able to stop a middle school student and talk to her about our English class. I said we teach at church because we are missionaries. It turns out that she is Christian, and goes to church, but on days she is busy she doesn’t go. ( luckily I found out our church is close to her house than the church she goes too (^∇^)  so hopefully she will come some time). Anyways, she loves the bible, so I was able to introduce her to the Book of Mormon and she committed to sharing it with her mom too! 
 
Also my companion had a really good experience talking some people. 
 
We also made a new friend who we have an appointment with, and she is half Japanese like I am! Except we are opposites. She was born in Japan, but knows a little bit of English. She is studying Russian and Arabic and wants to work on her English! 
 
Not only did those amazing things happen, but then something else happened! The elders have this friend who is an old man with a long grey pony tail. We call him Pony tail man ( he doesn’t tell us his name) . Anyways he is golden but doesn’t know it. He doesn’t want to make an appointment because he doesn’t want to give us his number. The elders have been trying forever to teach this grandpa. Last night, we Introduced him to the family eikaiwa where the missionaries come to their home and teach English and then teach a church lesson. He said he is very interested and we re-gave him the Elders’ phone number. Hopefully he will call them!
 
 
Sorry for the long letter, but anyways The Lord helps with our burdens in many ways. I’ve been praying to help my companion get more comfortable and talking with people, and this is one of he ways The Lord helped with my burden. After seeing all of these miracles within an hour, I know that my companion’s faith is strengthened and that we’ll be able to find even more prepared people.  
 
Love,

Sister Hokanson  
保歓尊姉妹

 

 
Leave a Reply

