I am an old missionary! ) : )

So today I finally let it soak in that I am an old missionary. I feel like crying, but I’m just going to turn my frown upside down and work even harder! We had president interview last week and President Wada basically told me to prepare my companion to train a new missionary. So I’m working on it. This next transfer is going to be awesome! Oh and we got no transfer call this morning, which means for the first time in my time as a missionary I’ll have the same companion! It is so nice, we can just keep teaching people all the time and it will be great! Last transfer some our investigators were really busy, but with the dawn of my transfer 7 coming I feel great things are about to pass. 

 
So there are so many miracles I don’t know where to start…
I don’t know if you remember Nozomi ちゃん. Well, we met her the first week of the transfer. She walked into Zone Meeting two days later and bore her testimony on the Book of Mormon, she said she was deeply moved! Impressive words for an 8 year old. I read the Book of Mormon when I was 7, at that time, I just thought it was a nice story. 
 
She is so prepared! She has referred her entire family to us. The only problem is the mom doesn’t want to meet us at all. I have faith it will happen eventually. To help create a better relationship with this family, our primary president wrote a note to them inviting them to come to the Stake Primary activity. We went to deliver it and three of them ( brother 14, sister 9, and Nozomi) came running to the door to greet us! Megumi and Nozomi ended up coming to the activity. Theme was preparing to become a missionary. The three things Nozomi wants at this point of her life are : Her mom to read the Book of Mormon ( “It is such a great book and I know my mom will like it as well”).  Second thing is to hear the missionary lessons. Third, she wants to become a missionary so she can do what we do all day.( She really loves me, she also loves Sister Pugmire, but she really loves me. I have no idea why. I’m pretty sure if I transferred this week, it would break her heart.) 
 
As of right now, it is okay for them to come to church and study in the regular Sunday classes and at activities ( like the stake primary activity). The only thing they can’t do is have a one on one lesson with the missionaries. 
 
During the primary activity they talked about the spirit and Megumi ちゃん really wanted to know about it. .. Afterwards we got Taiyaki ( Japanese sweets) she bought a spare one to eat later, we got on the train, a member boy asked why we were on the same train as them, but left earlier. We explained we bought Taiyaki. He was really wanting Taiyaki at that point. Megumi ちゃん pulled it out of her bag, gave it to him, and sat back down, she then hugged me and said 聖霊 (Holy Ghost). It took me a moment to understand, but then I was able to reassure her that she felt the spirit. Megumi ちゃん is so addicted to the spirit! She wants to feel it all the time! 
 
And it sounds like their dad came back from America. Today Nozomi said her dad read some of the Book of Mormon. We were able to get some of the mom’s of Nozomi’s friends to write their testimonies in a Book to give to the mom. We are hoping she reads it! Nozomi’s faith is so strong! 
 
My thought for the week comes from Words of Mormon. I choose this while pondering the importance of the Book of Mormon. Sometimes we may think that they just stack all the records from the time Nephi left Jerusalem till Moroni buried the plates, but that isn’t true they were compiled. Only a portion could be compiled into the Book of Mormon.
 
5 Wherefore, I chose these things, to finish my record upon them, which remainder of my record I shall take from the plates of Nephi; and I cannot write the hundredth part of the things of my people.
  
6 But behold, I shall take these plates, which contain these prophesyings and revelations, and put them with the remainder of my record, for they are choice unto me; and I know they will be choice unto my brethren.
 
7 And I do this for a wise purpose; for thus it whispereth me, according to the workings of the Spirit of the Lord which is in me. And now, I do not know all things; but the Lord knoweth all things which are to come; wherefore, he worketh in me to do according to his will.
 
8 And my prayer to God is concerning my brethren, that they may once again come to the knowledge of God, yea, the redemption of Christ; that they may once again be a delightsome people.
Words of Mormon 1:5-8
 
In the time of the Book of Mormon, not everyone had access to this book. It was written for our time and benefit. After carefully reading the records and being guided by the spirit of The Lord it was compiled into this sacred book. When reading ask yourself, Why did Mormon think it was important to have this verse? How does this apply to me? If you have desire and pure intent to follow up on the answer given, You will receive an answer, I promise. 
Ask yourselves if a mortal man can write this book. I tell you that he can’t. This book was prepared by The Lord for us. I love this book with all my heart, my 8 year old friend does too. She treasures her Book of Mormon and I hope you will too.
 
Going to the Primary activity with a member  🙂
Sept. 7 In a train with a memberSept. 7 Train
 
Love Sister Hokanson
Leave a Reply

