September 15, 2014

Dear everyone!

Today was temple P-day. I love going to the temple and feeling the spirit of The Lord in abundance.
So miracle of the week. Little Nozomi is the biggest missionary I’ve ever met. Her friends wanted to play with her on Sunday so she just brought them to church with her and they stayed for all three hours. Her older sister Megumi was able to come as well. We had an 8,9,10,11. Their class grew so big that they had to coordinate with the other classes to find a room big enough to teach them in. It is always fun when our primary doubles in size.
I’m really starting to see what the scripture in Doctrine and Covenants
And if it so be that you should labor all your days in crying repentance unto this people, and bring, save it be one soul unto me, how great shall be your joy with him in the kingdom of my Father!
D&C 18:15
The more I work with these girls the more I love them. I truly feel joy every time they come to church, see us on the streets and wave, and when they run into the church every time they see our bikes here. They are coming closer to their savior and their lives are changing.
The other day we made covers for the Book of Mormon and Nozomi demanded to have the picture of the two of us on her cover. I was trying to put the temple partly over our picture and she said, ” No I was all of Hokanson 姉妹” it was funny.
Nozomi and book cover
Another scripture I really liked from this week was Alma 31:5
And now, as the preaching of the word had a great tendency to lead the people to do that which was just- yea I had had more powerful effect upon the minds of the people than the sword, or anything else, which had happened unto them- therefore Alma thought it was expedient that they should try the virtue of the word of God.
The gospel is meant for everybody. We should try sharing it.
Also, I was reading general conference talks from April and remember the talk by M. Russell Ballard called Following up. I gave the spiritual message at district meeting from this talk. I encouraged all my fellow missionaries in my district to write what they learned from PMG this week to their families, therefore their families would be more likely to do the same and we can help more people follow M. Russell Ballard’s commitment from conference. There is still so much more I have to study from the last general conference. I can’t expect more revelation if I don’t act on there information already given to me.
This week I’ve been studying from page 48 which is Chapter 3 lesson 2. Our goal is to help people come unto Christ. I’ve been reading the scriptures listed on that page. My favorite is the title page. I read that for 30 minutes the other day. I encourage you to read it also.
image.png
Love, 保歓尊姉妹 ( Sister Hokanson)
IMG_2180IMG_2164
We took the girls to the Stake Primary Activity.
It was all about becoming a missionary.
image (12)image (13)
The girls helped us make fliers for the church Matsuri (Fall Festival), they took my iPad and started taking pictures.
IMG_2306
Elder Kennedy took this picture for us and during the middle of it, the BIGGEST earthquake I’ve felt in my entire life happened.
IMG_2307
Leave a Reply

