The Church Is True All Around The World

Dear family and friends,
Today I was reflecting on my past couple of weeks and I’ve become fascinated with a thought that I’ve known was true since I was little. This church is literally the Church of Jesus Christ, and it teaches the same doctrine where ever you go. One of the ways we learn is from reading the scriptures. I love that the Book of Mormon is published into many languages for the benefit of God’s Children. Everyone is part of God’s family. He loves us all so much that he sends us missionaries (that hardly know their mission language) so we can all have a chance to hear his glad message. Not only do we rely on leaders and parents to teach us, we need to study it out for ourselves.
I remember one year, my Grandparents came to Oregon and we had a big Family Home Evening activity with our cousins. My Grandpa Don asked us all to prepare a favorite scripture to share. That was the hardest question I’ve ever been asked! I had favorite stories, but I didn’t know where they are in the book! So I spent the next two hours flipping through the scriptures and then decided I will just use 1 Nephi 2:15 as my favorite verse. When it came to my turn, my Grandpa asked me,  Crystal, what is your favorite scripture?   I replied, And my father dwelt in a tent… I like it because I can remember the whole verse.
It may seem like a silly memory, but it really was a defining moment for me. I learned that I should probably know where my favorite stories are in the scriptures and I should spend more time in the scriptures because they teach us how to return to God.
The Introduction to the Book of Mormon says, The Crowning event recorded in the Book of Mormon is the personal ministry of the Lord Jesus Christ among the Nephites soon after His resurrection. It puts forth the doctrines of the gospel, outlines the plan of salvation, and tells men what they must do to gain peace in this life and eternal salvation in the life to come.
This week my companion and I watched Joseph Smith, the Prophet of the Restoration. From this movie there is a quote I like. “The message was always the same, Read the Book of Mormon, and then ask God if it is true”.  Everyone that knows this Church is true, found out by asking God the Eternal Father in the name of Jesus Christ if this message is true.
We are all brothers and sisters in Christ’s church; it doesn’t matter if you meet in a big chapel, or in a member’s house. We come to church to learn how to worship God.
保歓尊姉妹 (Sister Hokanson ),

Japan Tokyo South Mission
IMG_2373
Leave a Reply

