Power of the Priesthood

Dear family,
So this week is a very special week, my little brother is turning 12 years old! So I decided to dedicate this week in honor of him. Not all of you may know, but when worthy young men turn the age of 12 they get interview by one of God’s representatives and can be given the power and authority of God. This is called the Priesthood. As long as they obey the commandments and stay worthy of their calling, they can use their priesthood to bless the lives of many. I have been blessed so much in my life because my dad is worthy of the priesthood. I loved the blessings of the priesthood and I am so happy that my little brother has been making great choices in his life so that he can start blessing others even more.
Priesthood holders bless people in many ways, one of them being the sacred ordinance of the sacrament. Through the sacrament everyone every week can get the chance to use the Atonement of Jesus Christ and become a better person.
Another is by giving blessings of healing or comfort. Today I want to share an awesome miracle about priesthood blessings. So this story was told to me by my friend Elder Blanchard who was in the MTC with me. There is a family, for their sake I’ll change the name, Suzuki family has been in contact with the missionaries for 30 years. The mom is a member now, but the father could care less.
Then one day in November they called the missionaries and asked them to come over and dedicate their brand new car. ( fun fact, you can not dedicate a car) but they decided to just pray with her; Elder Blanched gave the prayer.  Then after that blessing, the mom and the son invited the Elders to go with them to the hospital where the dad was. They get their and had a nice chat. Then they talked about Priesthood Blessings. The dad requested a priesthood blessing, which I Elder McCarty gave. Right after the blessing he was healed. He shook their hands with much gratitude and was thankful for missionaries. The son who was opposed to the church and missionaries is now investigating the church. The father was released from the hospital the next day.
Now the really cool part is, the dad is getting baptized this Saturday! The spirit of God really touched his heart and it happened because those Elders were worthy of having the spirit of God with them.
I know that as we always strive to be better and follow the commandments of God we will be blessed.
2 And now, my son, I trust that I shall have great joy in you, because of your steadiness and your faithfulness unto God; for as you have commenced in your youth to look to the Lord your God, even so I hope that you will continue in keeping his commandments; for blessed is he that endureth to the end.
image2.JPG

Alma 38:2
If we always strive to continue to be better, we will be able to reach our full potential. I love you all! Have a great week.
You might have seen on facebook, but here are my new companions! If we combine our transfers together we are tied as the oldest companionship! We are tied with the assistants to the president. Combined we have 28 transfers worth of knowledge! We have been blessed with so many miracles already and it has only been 5 days! I know that God gives us people in our lives so that we can grow and learn from the strengths.
image1.JPG

 
Love,

Sister Hokanson🌺
保歓尊姉妹
Leave a Reply

