April 25th the perfect date! Not too hot and not too cold and all you
need is a light jacket. – Miss Congeniality.

Well April 25th was the perfect date! We were able to accomplish much in order to progress the
work in this area. We went looking for a less actives house. We were
lost and this lady came up to us and helped us. Then she said she
wants to be friends and that she has a lot of Christian friends! How
cool is that?!

Reflecting on this past week, I’ve decided the longer you have served
in the field, the faster the time flies bye. I keep telling people
I’ve been in Japan for two months, and then my companion reminded me
that this week marks my fourth month. Where is the time going?

And behold, I tell you these things that ye may learn wisdom; that ye
may learn that when ye are in the service of your fellow beings ye are
only in the service of your God. -Mosiah 2:17.  I love how this
scripture uses the word learn twice! To catch our attention! Someday I
wonder how I can serve better. My companions are awesome, we are
always trying to serve each other and we are running out of ways to
serve each other. I can testify that as you serve, your love for people
will grow.

I also want to share a passage of scripture I read during personal
study. Alma 26. Ammon is praising God. If you don’t believe me read vs
16. Any ways, the part I was reading was verse 29 and 30. I was
studying the concept of patience and pondering the results of patience
and diligence.

29. And we have entered into their houses and taught them, and we have
taught them in their streets; yea, and we have taught them upon their
hills; and we have also entered into their temples and their
synagogues and taught them; and we have been cast out, and mocked, and
spit upon, and smoke upon our cheeks; and we have been stoned, and
taken bound with strong cords, and cast into prison; and through the
power and wisdom of God we have been delivered again.

As missionaries we knock on houses all the time to find people to
teach, we talk to people on the streets, on trains, on buses, at the
grocery store, every where. I haven’t been cast out, but I’ve had many
doors slammed in my face, sometimes we feel bound by the language,
etc. And God’s love and the Gospel of Christ help me to stay happy for
I have much to rejoice about.

30. And we have suffered all manner of afflictions, and all this, that
perhaps we might be the means of saving some soul; and we supposed
that our joy would be full if perhaps we could be the means of saving
someone.

The purpose of missionary work is to bring people unto Christ. Through
Christ’s Atonement we have the opportunity to return to God our
Heavenly Father. The gospel blesses families, it makes us realize that
we can live together forever. Through Christ’s Atonement our guilt
and regrets can go away. No matter what your needs and concerns might
be, I testify that the Savior and his teachings will help you. It will
help you deal with problems and challenges that we all face in life.

Yep it was a good week!

Love,
ホカンソン姉妹